You are here

News and press releases

1600 hairdressers from around the world attend the 2023 International Hairdressing Awards


1600 professionals from 30 different countries around the world have come to Palma de Mallorca (Spain) for the great night of the international hairdressing industry, the 5th year of the International Hairdressing Awards, which represent an indisputable consolidation of the event. The International Hairdressing Awards were held at the Palau de Congressos de Palma, on May 8th with a live broadcast on the internet.

The great night of world hairdressing has brought together the best hairdressers from around the world in Palma, once again turning a Spanish city into the hairdressing capital of the world. The night has passed in the style of the grand prizes, with a purple carpet (the red carpet of the hairdressing industry), a catwalk with the main hairdressing teams in the world presenting their collections and a glamorous awards ceremony. The famous hairdresser Anthony Mascolo has received the International Hair Legend 2023 honorary award, for his career in the profession and for being an indisputable reference for professionals around the world, as well as a media icon. The International Hair Influencer of the Year award was also given to the British hairdresser Sophia Hilton, for his reach and positive impact on social media.

In this edition, the winners of the different categories of the contest were announced again during the world tour that the International Hairdressing Awards carried out in March. The winners were revealed personally and by surprise by Mikel Luzea, director and founder, and Sergi Bancells, global ambassador for the awards, who traveled around the world together with their production team to personally announce the awards to the winners.

In this way, the British hairdressers Laura Scott and Bayleigh Peace (Mark Leeson Salons) have been winners of the Best International Men’s Commercial Collection category, while the Best International Women’s Commercial Collection has gone to the British hairdresser Robert Masciave. In the Best International Avant-Garde Collection category, the winner was the UK-based Italian hairdresser Enrica Russo. The British Mark Leeson Art Team have won the award International Artistic Team of the Year and, finally, British Cos Sakkas has won in the queen category of the contest, International Hairdresser of the Year, for second year in a row.

The awards ceremony was accompanied by a catwalk led by some of the most outstanding hairdressing teams in the world: Rick Roberts (UK), Steven Smart (UK), Mark Leeson Art Team (UK), Hob Salons (UK), and the Spanish teams X -presion (with an special collaboration with Antoinette Beenders) and Carlos Valiente. In addition, some of the icons of international hairdressing have attended as VIP guests.

The fifth year
In its fifth year, participation has registered great figures: almost 500 collections from 38 different countries have entered to participate with their photographic work in the categories of Best International Women’s Collection, Best International Men’s Collection and Best International Avant-Garde Collection. In addition, the hairdressers and artistic teams that had been shortlisted to participate in the categories of International Hairdresser of the Year and International Artistic Team of the Year were invited to submit their applications, consisting of a photographic collection and a dossier summarizing their professional career in the last year.

The organization
The International Hairdressing Awards are an independent beauty company, powered by hairdressers, which has been supported from its beginnings by a main sponsor of international relevance that believes in the message and mission of these awards, Revlon Professional. Also, Estetica Magazine acts as global media partner and The Hair MBA and Salón Look Madrid as sponsors. These brands have made a strong bet and have combined their forces to make this event an international success. For more information, visit

Latest news

©2018 Melia. All rights reserved.